Monthly Magazine

Posted on Updated on

Hardware
Hardware

Rapped up the Maximum PC March 2014 Magazine, there were some nice reviews in the issue this time around. Lets start first with the hate Next Unit of Computing (NUC), the Gigabyte Brix Pro was on my radar late last year and only for one reason, to have something small for the living room.

Has of now I hate all of these Small Form Factors because their lack of performance they provide period. They say “this desktop Haswell-R part is so fast, it slightly outpaced our zero-point system in ProShow Producer 5 and was slower by just 4 percent in Stitch.Efx 2.0. Yes fast then a six-core overclocked machine that’s 30 times bigger.” Honestly who cares, sure their nice little machines but c’mon its not like you can throw a 11 inc graphics card in there.

Keyboard Reviews, around up of six keyboards ranging from mechanical to rubber dome membrane stye, key macros etc. Out six there would only be two, and those two are Roccat RYOS MK Pro and Corsair Raptor K50. The Roccat keyboard is just awesome, the build and look of this keyboard is just nicely finished. For the Corsair Raptor K50 the Volume wheel even though its using rubber dome membrane keys.

CM Storm Mech Keyboard
MAD CATZ S.T.R.I.K.E. 3
SteelSeries Apex
Roccat Ryos MK Glow and MK Pro
Gigabyte Force K7 Stealth
Corsair Raptor K50

In the intro of the magazine, I love when Gordon Mah Ung says “I was talking to this guy at CES this year 2014 and said, when waking into Intel’s boot you wouldn’t even know they sold processors” wow right, like I said I’m completely done fixing peoples laptops and getting asked questions about stupid Smart Phones, Tables and consoles, the fuck with you all that’s the New Attitude.

For the How to department Fine-tune your SSD, useful information nevertheless. Good news well on my behalf Katherine Stevenson is moving on thank god, I never liked her from day one. Shes that kind’ve bitch that just gets on your nerves, no matter what she tries to do. Plus she had the nerve to say “when I first stated working at Maximum PC, I was an innocent Mac-using copy editor just looking for a foothold.” Yeah like to get a hold of your innocent little Mac you ungrateful bitch.

Hardware department NZXT Kraken G10 GPU Bracket really cool, especially when you can use other Close Loop Liquid Coolers (CLC) on the market, its a great idea. Sapphire Tri-X Radeon R9 290X, Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780 GHz Edition, Antec Kuhler H20 950 not the best CLC cooler on the market and hate the fact you can’t change the fan, because the pump is build together as one, stupid when the Cooler Master 212 Evo can out perform it at idle. WD Black2 get it Black2 there’s a HDD and a SSD in a 2.5 inc form factor, stick with Samsung or Intel as their SSD’s come bundled with software, TRIM-garbage collection etc.

Here’s something that was really funny from Readers Question. Windows 8.1 Not Convinced, I read your Skeptic Guide to Windows 8.1 January 2014. It was very informative, and it has convinced me that I will Never purchase Windows 8.1. I’m with G Knipe on this one, even though I skipped that article like it was a plague. I have no intention updating from a Desktop to a Tablet anytime soon.

